Igniculus

The art of pure analog audio

Is vinyl the best audio source? It is controversial.

Is it irreplaceable? Definitely. There is no way to bring back Louis Armstrong and Ella Fitzgerald to do another duet in digital. Those precious vinyl records from the golden era definitely worth to be well preserved.

This is why Synaestec Audio tried so hard to adopt our world acclaimed ultra-low noise amplification technology to create the best phono preamplifier. Proudly present our new member, the Igniculus.

Features

Multiple stages of proprietary Octa-drive amplifier for high gain application

Our ultra-low noise Octa-drive amplification technology used in the Fulcrum preamplifier has set the highest standard in the industry. However, the gain of a line preamplifier is only about 10, but the amount of gain necessary for a phono preamplifier is in excess of 100000. For this reason, we have spent years of effort modifying the Octa-drive technology into super high gain amplifier, while preserving its extremely low noise property.

The result is the ultimate phono preamplifier with a record breaking signal to noise ratio of better than 105dB!The Igniculus is the only phono preamplifier that can provide effective resolution comparable to the best digital audio source.

lime

 

Full differential, true balanced architecture

Just like every other Synaestec Audio product, the Igniculus is designed based on full differential amplifier circuit, which is truly balanced all the way from the input to the output. There is no single ended to balanced converter inside. Signal is routed through the circuit board using controlled impedance differential transmission line without using any jumpers or interruption. Therefore, the noise rejection property of the balanced circuit has been fully utilized.

lime

Triple metal shield and mechanically isolated power supply

Phono amplifiers are having ten thousand times more gain than a line preamplifier, which also means that they are ten thousand times more sensitive to interference and noise pickup. We counteract this by applyingMu-metal magnetic shieldingdirectly over the low leakage toroidal transformers.Beside this, there is an additional layer offerromagnetic metal shielding case that blocks the every last bit of interference from going into the sensitive part of the amplifier.

Similar to our Fulcrum line preamplifier, the power supply unit of the Igniculusis installed inside 5mm thick solid aluminium compartment and mechanically isolated by high damping rubber suspensions. There are more than 90000uF of storage capacitance and over 30 stages of low noise power supply regulators, to provide the absolute pure DC for the amplifier circuit.

lime

The legend reborn, EQ curve for historical record labels

Besides the standard RIAA EQ curve, the Igniculus offers three more EQ curves for the compatibility of those old record labels pre-dating the RIAA standardization. The Columbia "six eye", the Decca/London "FFRR" and the vintage EMI. The original sound of these legacy record companies can be resurrected by the use of the correct EQ curve.

lime

Fully configurable, adaptive cartridge interface

Both the gain, input impedance and input capacitance of the Igniculus are selectable, through the switch panel hidden inside the roof window. These manual switches control the miniature relays located right alongside the input terminals, so that the signal path length can be kept to a minimum. There is no microprocessor or switch mode power supply anywhere inside the Igniculusthat might create noise or contamination.

lime

Measurement

Specifications

Inputs:

 

2 symmetrical XLR

2 asymmetrical RCA

 

 

Input impedance:

 

Selectable 50 / 100 / 220 / 470 ohm

Selectable 10K / 22K / 47K / 100K ohm

MC cartridge

MM cartridge

Input capacitance:

Selectable 50 / 100 / 220 / 330 pF

 

Gain:

 

Selectable 62 / 67 / 73 / 78 dB

Selectable 42 / 48 / 54 / 59 dB

MC cartridge

MM cartridge

Equalization curve:

Selectable RIAA / Columbia / Decca / EMI

 

Frequency response:

10Hz to 100KHz (+ /- 0.5dB)

 

THD + N:

<0.001%

 

Signal to noise ratio:

>105dBA

 

Channel separation:

>100dB

 

Power consumption:

60W

Weight:

32.5kg

 

Dimension:

485 mm x 485 mm x 143,8 mm (W x D x H)

 

-->

Igniculus

Die Kunst puren Analogsounds

Ist Vinyl der beste Tonträger? Das ist umstritten.

Ist es unersetzlich? Auf jeden Fall. Auf ein Comeback von Louis Armstrong und Ella Fitzgerald für die digitale Aufnahme eines weiteren Duetts können wir leider nicht hoffen. Die kostbaren Schallplatten aus der goldenen Ära sind es zweifellos wert, behutsam aufbewahrt zu werden.

Darum hat Synästec Audio alles darangesetzt, mithilfe unserer weltberühmten ultrarauscharmen Verstärkertechnologie den besten Phono-Vorverstärker zu entwickeln. Also präsentieren wir heute mit Stolz unsere Produktneuheit, den Igniculus.

Features

Der eigens entwickelte Octa-Drive-Verstärker mit mehreren Stufen für anspruchsvolle Anwendungen

Mit unserer im Fulcrum-Vorverstärker integrierten ultrarauscharmen Octa-Drive-Verstärkertechnologie haben wir in der Branche bereits den höchsten Standard gesetzt. Während die Verstärkungsleistung bei einem Line-Vorverstärker nur um etwa 10 vervielfacht wird, benötigt ein Phono-Vorverstärker einen Verstärkungsfaktor von über 100.000. Aus diesem Grund haben wir jahrelang entwickelt, um die Octa-Drive-Technologie in einen Super-Hochleistungsverstärker zu integrieren und dabei seine extrem rauscharmen Qualitäten zu bewahren.

Das Ergebnis ist der ultimative Phono-Vorverstärker mit einem bahnbrechenden Signal-Rausch-Verhältnis von über 105 dB! Der Igniculus ist der einzige Phono-Vorverstärker mit einer effizienten Auflösung, die sich mit den besten digitalen Audiotechnologien messen kann.

lime

 

Volldifferentielle Architektur mit perfekter Balance

Wie bei allen anderen Audioprodukten von Synästec basiert das Design des Igniculus auf einer volldifferentiellen Verstärkerschaltung mit perfekter Symmetrie vom Eingang bis zum Ausgang. Der Igniculus integriert keinen Unsymmetrisch-zu-symmetrisch-Wandler. Das Signal durchläuft die Leiterplatte über eine differentielle Übertragungsleitung mit kontrollierter Impedanz, ganz ohne Überbrückungen oder Unterbrechungen. Dadurch wird die Fähigkeit der symmetrischen Schaltung, Störgeräusche zu unterdrücken, voll ausgeschöpft.

lime

 

Dreifache Metallabschirmung und mechanisch isolierte Stromaufnahme

Phono-Verstärker bieten im Vergleich zu Line-Vorverstärkern eine um das Zehntausendfache verstärkte Leistung, was jedoch auch bedeutet, dass sie zehntausendmal empfindlicher gegenüber Interferenzen und Geräuschaufnahme sind. Dem wirken wir mit einer magnetischen Mu-Metall-Abschirmung entgegen, die direkt über den streuarmen Ringkernwandlern angebracht ist. Darüber hinaus wird durch eine zusätzliche ferromagnetische Metallabschirmung verhindert, dass selbst kleinste Störgeräusche zu den empfindlichen Teilen des Verstärkers vordringen.

Ähnlich wie bei unserem Fulcrum-Line-Vorverstärker befindet sich das Netzgerät des Igniculus in einem 5 mm dicken, robusten Aluminiumgehäuse, das mithilfe von Hochleistungs-Gummidämpfern mechanisch isoliert ist. Mit mehr als 90.000 uF Speicherkapazität und über 30 rauscharmen Netzteilreglerstufen erhält die Verstärkerschaltung absolut reinen Gleichstrom.

lime

 

Die Wiedergeburt einer Legende – EQ-Kurve für historische Plattenlabels

Neben der Standard-RIAA-EQ-Kurve bietet der Igniculus drei weitere EQ-Kurven für die Kompatibilität der Plattenlabels, die noch vor der RIAA-Standardisierung veröffentlicht wurden, wie das „Six Eye“ von Columbia, das „FFRR“ von Decca/London und das Vintage-EMI. Der Originalsound dieser historischen Plattenfirmen kann durch den Einsatz der passenden EQ-Kurve wieder zum Leben erweckt werden.

lime

Umfassend konfigurierbare, adaptive Tonabnehmer-Schnittstelle

Verstärkerleistung, Eingangsimpedanz und Eingangskapazität des Igniculus sind über das unter der Deckscheibe integrierte Schaltfeld einstellbar. Diese manuellen Schalter steuern die Miniaturrelais, die direkt neben den Eingangsklemmen angeordnet sind, sodass der Signalpfad möglichst kurzgehalten wird. Der Igniculus integriert keine Mikroprozessoren oder Schaltnetzteile, die Geräusche oder Verunreinigungen verursachen könnten.

lime

Messungen

Specifications

Eingänge:

 

2 symmetrische XLR

2 asymmetrische RCA

 

 

Eingangsimpedanz:

 

Konfigurierbar, 50 / 100 / 220 / 470 Ohm

Konfigurierbar, 10K / 22K / 47K / 100K Ohm

MC-Tonabnehmer

MM-Tonabnehmer

Eingangskapazität:

Konfigurierbar, 50 / 100 / 220 / 330 pF

 

Verstärkung:

 

Konfigurierbar, 62 / 67 / 73 / 78 dB

Konfigurierbar, 42 / 48 / 54 / 59 dB

MC-Tonabnehmer

MM-Tonabnehmer

Entzerrungskurve:

Konfigurierbar, RIAA / Columbia / Decca / EMI

 

Frequenzgang:

10 Hz bis 100 KHz (+ /- 0,5 dB)

 

THD + N:

<0,001%

 

Signal-Rausch-Verhältnis:

>105 dBA

 

Kanalisolierung:

>100 dB

 

Stromaufnahme:

60W

Gewicht:

32,5kg

 

Abmessungen:

mm x 485 mm x 148,8 mm (B x T x H)